News and Public Notices

The latest from across Bougainville

New Members sworn in to Bougainville House of Representatives

Two newly elected Members of the Bougainville House of Representative (BHoR) were officially sworn in today following the by-elections for Haku and Nissan Constituencies respectively.

Hon. Patrick Koles was sworn in today as the Member-elect for Haku Constituency whilst Hon. Didymus Napto Kissu was sworn in as Member-elect for Nissan.

Both Members were elected to their respective seats following the deaths of the former constituency Members – Late Honorable Xavier Kareku, the then Member for Haku who passed on in March last year whilst in office and Late Honorable Charry Napto, Member for Nissan who lost his life in a tragic incident two years ago.

Hon. Koles, a former provincial administrator thanked the people of Haku for giving him the mandate and also called for their support to achieve the aspirations of Bougainville which is independence.

Hon. Napto shared similar sentiments, thanking the chiefs and people of Nissan for electing him and he said he would do his best to take on the leadership and legacy set by his father Late Charry Napto in serving the people of Nissan.

Chief Magistrate Bruce Tasikul was present to officiate the swearing in ceremony at the BHoR witnessed by the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Clerk and staff, Member for Atolls, Deputy Chief Secretary Operations as Caretaker Chief Secretary and the community members of Haku and Nissan Constituencies.

[ Back to News ]