Bougainville Peace Agreement

The foundation of our peaceful future

Bougainville Peace Agreement

The Bougainville Peace Agreement is a joint creation of the Government of Papua New Guinea and Bougainville leaders, signed on 30 August, 2001, in Arawa. It was heralded as a world class peace document. The Agreement provides a road map for all parties, based on three pillars: Autonomy, Weapons Disposal and a Referendum on Bougainville’s political status.


The Bougainville Peace Agreement (BPA) is the outcome of more than 20 agreements signed by Bougainville leaders and the National Government leaders on August 30, 2001 to find lasting peace and a political settlement for the people of Bougainville. The BPA calls for Bougainville to have its own constitution and further, calls for a Bougainville constitution that recognizes the sovereignty of PNG and the PNG Constitution.

The different aspects contained in the BPA can be categorised under three main pillars:

  • The Autonomy arrangement for Bougainville;
  • The weapons disposal plan adopted by the Peace Process Consultative Committee following consultation with the ex-combatants; and
  • The agreement to a constitutionally guaranteed referendum on Bougainville’s political future to be held amongst Bougainvilleans 10-15 years after the establishment of the Autonomous Bougainville Government. when conditions are right. Independence must be an option and the outcome is subject to the final decision-making authority of the National Parliament.


Read more about the three pillars (AutonomyWeapons Disposal & Referendum) and access the key documents associated with the BPA.